District Service Commission

Section 54 of the Local Governments Act provides for the establishment of a District Service
Commission (DSC) in each district. The District Service Commission performs a decentralized role of the Public Service Commission (PSC) which was established under Article 165(1) of the 1995 Constitution (Public Service Commission, 2020).
Some of the functions of the Public Service Commission include;

  • To review terms and conditions of service, standing orders, qualifications of public officers, matters connected with personnel management and development of public service and make recommendations to government
  • (ii) Approve and appoint the Chairpersons and Members of the DSC as
    stipulated under Article 198(2) of the Constitution
  •  (iii) guide and coordinate the work of the DSC as provided under Article 166(1) of the Constitution; (iv) and hear as well as determine grievances from persons appointed by the District Service Commissions. The Commission is mandated to have five members.